Year 2: Day 108 – A Writer

The 365 Poetry Project: Year 3

I’ve heard it said by many:
“I always wanted to be a writer,”
“I always thought I should be a writer,”
“I’ve always been told I should’ve been a writer.”

I’m not sure if they’re looking for sympathy,
but I haven’t got much.

As far as I know,
if you really want to be something,
you do it.
And if you really should be something,
you’ll find a way to get there.

Maybe they just haven’t thought about it much.
Maybe they just never had the guts.
Maybe it wasn’t financially feasible at the time
because they’ve got a wife and children to support
and veterinary school seemed like the better option
than wasting time on a worthless English degree.
Maybe…

Well.

I won’t go into all that.

In any case,
I never heard of a writer who got there on accident.
And I never heard of a writer who…

View original post 8 more words

Leave a Reply

